panorama destination

panorama destination

Tourism Malaysia Appoints New Director General
05 December 2018 | Written by dtnweb

Datuk Musa bin Yusof has been appointed as the Director General of Tourism Malaysia, effective 3rd December 2018. His appointment was announced by the Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Datuk Mohamaddin bin Ketapi at the Malaysian Parliament. Datuk Musa bin Yusof succeeds Datuk Seri Mirza Mohammad Taiyab, who officially retired from the post on 2nd December 2018.

In his announcement, the Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture expressed appreciation to Datuk Seri Mirza for his 36 years of service to Tourism Malaysia. He said, “We have lost a figure who has made great contributions to the growth of Malaysia’s tourism industry. We wish him all the success and hope that his vast experience in tourism will continue to benefit and elevate Malaysia’s tourism industry.”

In reference to the incoming Director, the Minister also said, “I hope Datuk Musa will bring Tourism Malaysia to greater heights and assist the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture in our efforts to achieve our targets. I also hope that under this new leadership, we can enhance the cooperation among all agencies under the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Cutlure, and work together as one to achieve excellence.”

Datuk Musa joined Tourism Malaysia (known as Tourist Development Corporation of Malaysia or TDC at the time) on 7th July 1990 as Assistant Director of Enforcement & Facilitation Division. During his tenure at Tourism Malaysia, he took on several key positions including the Special Officer (Tourism) to the Honorable Minister of Culture, Arts & Tourism of Malaysia, YB Dato’ Sabbaruddin Chik (1997-1998). He was also the Director of the Tourism Malaysia Paris office from 1998 to 2003.

His experience in Tourism Malaysia includes market development, corporate, international promotion, promotional support and domestic marketing. He was Senior Director, International Promotion Division (Asia/Africa) prior to his appointment as Director General.