panorama destination

panorama destination

Visa Regulations for Thailand

Visa Regulations for Thailand

So, you’ve decided to visit amazing Thailand. Plans are forming, itineraries are being finalized and the mind is drifting to the many adventures that lie ahead. Before you pack the sunscreen and flip-flops, there’s one more thing to be taken care of: your visa.

In this article, we’ll lay out all the relevant information related to tourist visas in Thailand, so you can enter the country knowing exactly what is required.

Free Visa entry & VOA - Visa on Arrival:

Depending on your passport and where you are from, there are three options to enter Thailand that apply to most travellers who come for tourism or social purposes:

1. No Visa required (majority of countries - FREE entry, for stay not exceeding 30 days. Valid if entering via International Airport / 15 days if entering by land, can be extended if necessary)
2. Visa on Arrival (฿1,000 fee, extension of stay except in special cases)
3. Visa needed (apply abroad before arriving in Thailand)

Requirements for a Tourist Visa

- Passport or travel document with a validity not less than 6 months
- Visa application form (filled out)
- One(1) recent 4x6cm photograph of the applicant
- Round-trip air ticket or e-ticket (paid in full)
- Proof of financial means (20,000 baht per person/40,000 baht per family)

Visa Fee:

US $ 30.00 per entry or equivalent. The tourist visa fee is subject to change without prior notice, so it is a good idea to stay updated by visiting the nearest Thai Embassy or consulate in your area.


All visitors to Thailand must have a passport that is valid for a minimum of six months onwards from the date of arrival.

Outbound ticket:

You will also need to prove to immigration that you do not intend to stay longer than your tourist visa allows. To do this, you just need a return ticket to your home country, or an outbound ticket for your next destination after Thailand.


Holders of normal passports of the following countries are granted visa-free travel to Thailand for a period of up to 30 days. The exemption is granted for a maximum of two times in a calendar year when entering over land or via a sea border, but there is no limitation when entering by air.

For Malaysians entering by land border, there is no limitation in issuing the 30-day visa exemption stamp. Korea, Brazil, Peru, Argentina and Chile will get 90 days whether arriving by airport or land border.

55 Countries allowed to enter Thailand under the VISA EXEMPTION RULE:

  1. Argentina
  2. Australia
  3. Austria
  4. Bahrain
  5. Belgium
  6. Brazil
  7. Brunei
  8. Canada
  9. Chile
  10. Czech Republic
  11. Denmark
  12. Estonia
  13. Finland
  14. France
  15. Germany
  16. Greece
  17. Hong Kong
  18. Hungary
  19. Iceland
  1. Indonesia
  2. Ireland
  3. Israel
  4. Italy
  5. Japan
  6. Korea
  7. Kuwait
  8. Laos
  9. Liechtenstein
  10. Luxembourg
  11. Macau
  12. Malaysia
  13. Monaco
  14. Mongolia
  15. Netherlands
  16. New Zealand
  17. Norway
  18. Oman
  19. Peru
  1. Philippines
  2. Poland
  3. Portugal
  4. Qatar
  5. Russia
  6. Singapore
  7. Slovak Republic
  8. Slovenia
  9. South Africa
  10. Spain
  11. Sweden
  12. Switzerland
  13. Turkey
  14. United Arab Emirates
  15. United Kingdom
  16. United States
  17. Vietnam

Nationals of the following countries may apply for Visa on Arrival, period of stay 15 days

  1. Andorra
  2. Bulgaria
  3. Bhutan
  4. China
  5. Cyprus
  6. Ethiopia
  7. India
  8. Kazakhstan
  9. Latvia
  10. Lithuania
  1. Maldives
  2. Malta
  3. Mauritius
  4. Romania
  5. San Marino
  6. Saudi Arabia
  7. Taiwan
  8. Ukraine
  9. Uzbekistan
  10. Oman
  1. The Philippines
  2. Poland
  3. Portugal
  4. Qatar
  5. Singapore
  6. Slovak
  7. Slovenia
  8. Spain
  9. South Africa
  10. Sweden
  1. Switzerland
  2. Turkey
  3. UAE
  4. UK
  5. USA
  6. Vietnam
  7. Brazil
  8. Korea (ROK)
  9. Peru

Visa on Arrival:

According to the Interior Ministerial Announcements, passport holders from 19 countries and territories may apply for visas at the immigration checkpoints for the purpose of tourism for a period not exceeding 15 days.

The applicant must possess funds for daily expenses amounting to 10,000 Baht per person and 20,000 Baht per family.

The applicant must possess a passport with minimum six-month validity and must present a fully paid ticket which is usable within 15 days from the date of entry.

Visa on arrival is provided at 42 designated international checkpoints. Applicants should submit the application form duly filled out and with their recent photograph (4 x 6 cm) attached. Since 27th September 2016, Thailand, by the order of the Ministry of Interior No. 30 B.E. 2559 (2016) dated 1 July B.E. 2559 (2016), increased the VoA fee from 1,000 to 2,000 THB.

Between 1st December 2016 and 28th February 2017, Visa on Arrival (VoA) was decreased from 2,000 THB to 1,000 THB, by the Order of the Ministry of Interior dated 30th November B.E. 2559 (2016). This applied to all citizens of the countries that are entitled to apply for the VoA at the designated immigration checkpoints.

Visitors who enter the Kingdom with Visa on Arrival generally cannot file an application for extension of stay, except in special cases such as illness which prevents them from travelling. They can submit an application at the Office of Immigration Bureau, Immigration Division 1, Soi Suan Plu, South Sathorn Road, Bangkok 10120. Tel. 02 287-3127

42 designated immigration checkpoints to apply for the VoA:

  1. Suvarnabhumi Airport, Samut Prakarn
  2. Don Muang International Airport, Bangkok
  3. Chiangmai International Airport, Chiangmai
  4. Phuket International Airport, Phuket
  5. Hatyai Internation Airport, Shongkhla
  6. U Tapao Airport, Rayong
  7. Mae Sai Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  8. Chiang Saen Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  9. Chiang Khong Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  10. Betong Immigration Checkpoint, Yala
  11. Sadao Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  12. Samui Airport, Surat Thani
  13. Sukhothai International Airport, Tak Immigration Checkpoint
  14. Bangkok Harbour Immigration Checkpoint, Bangkok
  15. Sri Racha Immigration Checkpoint, Chonburi
  16. Mabtaput Immigration Checkpoint, Rayong
  17. Nong Khai Immigration Checkpoint, Nong Khai
  18. Samui Immigration Checkpoint, Surat Thani
  19. Phuket Immigration Checkpoint, Phuket
  20. Satun Immigration Checkpoint, Satun
  21. Krabi Immigration Checkpoint, Krabi
  22. Songkhla Harbour Immigration Checkpoint, Shongkhla
  23. Chiangrai Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  24. Surat Thani Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Surat Thani
  25. Sattahip Habour Immigration Checkpoint, Chonburi
  26. Khlong Yai Immigration Checkpoint, Trat
  27. Pong Nam Ron Immigration Checkpoint, Chantaburi
  28. Aranyaprathet Immigration Checkpoint, Sakaeo
  29. Mukdahan Immigration Checkpoint, Mukdahan
  30. Tak Immigration Checkpoint, Tak
  31. Padang Besar Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  32. Su-Ngai Kolok Immigration Checkpoint, Narathiwat
  33. Nong Khai Immigration Checkpoint, Nong Khai
  34. Bueng Kan Immigration Checkpoint, Bueng Kan
  35. Phibun Mangsahan Immigration Checkpoint, Ubon Ratchathani
  36. Tha Li Immigration Checkpoint, Loei
  37. Nakhon Phanom Immigration Checkpoint, Nakhon Phanom
  38. Nan Immigration Checkpoint, Nan
  39. Ban Prakob Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  40. Khuan Don Immigration Checkpoint, Satun
  41. Tak Bai Immigration Checkpoint, Narathiwat
  42. Bukit Tal Immigration Checkpoint, Narathiwat